Oceansize (1998-2011)

What is a person supposed to do when their favourite band splits? I’ve been trying to deal with this since yesterday afternoon when Oceansize, a (unfortunately) relatively unknown band from Manchester announced they won’t be making any more new music. I feel devastated. When today’s music world is dominated by unbearable (and indistinguishable) pop-crap, it’s getting increasingly harder for Artists (with capital A) to stand out and actually make music with added value. Oceansize were one of those bands.

I really don’t know what to write. I wanted to write a beautiful post, with references to their greatest songs, and poetic descriptions of their sound, as they deserve, but I’m incapable of doing anything like it right now. I’m too fucking pissed off at the music world for it. After a couple of weeks where I enjoyed new work from Radiohead and Mogwai, two of my favourite bands, it feels like a punishment to lose these guys. All I can do right now is hope that their future projects will have at least a spark of the brilliance they achieved as Oceansize. Godspeed!

Leave a Reply

